Dutch National identity according the ‘world’

14 January , 2008

During my stay in the UK, I found lots of stereotype images about the Dutch national identity. Shortly, it looks a bit like the picture below:

I have to say that the image of the ‘everything is possible’ idea of the Netherlands is not correct, unfortunately.

However, this week I will post something about this topic. I will look at our ‘cheap’ (miser) image and look at the positive aspects of this (dissapearing) Dutch habits in the “how to…” category. It might be handy to save some money after the expensive December month, and which nation (except for the Scottish, kidding) are known to be the ultimate cheapskates: the Dutch…

Think of the saying in English: going Dutch (being too much of a magpie to pay for your girl’s drinks or meal) or Dutch treat.

So lovely to be Dutch…

Leave a comment